Why “Streamlined Freelancer?”

The simplest answer is that’s what I’m aspiring to be. I’m working on it.

The hard truth is, I’m not a ‘born-organized’ personality type. Don’t get me wrong; I can meet deadlines, show up on time, complete high-quality work, and achieve some pretty awesome things. Unfortunately, I might have a history of leaving a wake in my path to do it.

My mom likes to tell stories about my high school self. My room could be perfectly clean when I would wake up in the morning. By the time I left for school, it would look like a hurricane came through.

At some point in my adult life, living that way became exhausting. (Probably around kid number three). I started seeking ways to simplify, calm down, and streamline my crazy life.

The good news for me, and for anyone who can relate, is that habits can be changed. New skills can be acquired. In her book, Organizing from the Inside Out, Julie Morgenstern asserts that organization is a skill that can be learned by anyone.

I have found this to be true in my own life.

‘Training’ myself to be organized was only the first step, though. I quickly realized it wasn’t enough. I moved toward minimalism in attempt to get complete control of my life. Minimizing stuff wasn’t the complete answer either.

I had attitudes, choices, priorities, and systems to address!

Maximizing Efficiency

For me, streamlining everything was the ultimate answer.

Mirriam-Webster.com defines streamlined as:

  • contoured to reduce resistance to motion through a fluid (as air), stripped of nonessentials; effectively integrated
  • Having flowing lines
  • Brought up to date

All of these convey what streamlined means to me, but especially ‘stripped of nonessentials’ and ‘effectively integrated.’

I want to remove the nonessentials in my life and business, and effectively integrate freelancing into my life. Practically speaking, streamlining means (to me):

  • Taking every task, breaking it down, and removing any unnecessary step
  • Setting boundaries with my time (when I will/will not work on business, etc.)
  • Making hard choices about what projects I am pursuing
  • Removing all nonessential items from my home
  • A whole lotta problem solving to eliminate/prevent time wasters
  • And so much more!

It’s taking efficiency to a whole new level!

Whether it’s in the kitchen, writing an article, or considering what projects to pursue, if there is a way to save time or energy while increasing maximum gain, I want to know about it.

If you have something you’ve learned, whether it’s a hack for cleaning, a time saving recipe, or a way to run a freelance business more efficiently, please share. I promise to do the same!

Leave a Reply

